HenrotinHENROTIN Yves is Professor of Pathology, Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation and director of the Bone and Cartilage Research Unit at the University of Liège (Belgium). He is also an administrator of the Centre of Immunology (CIL) and the Centre for Oxygen Research and Development (CORD).

He has been head of the Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation department at the Princess Paola Hospital, Marche-en-Famenne, Belgium, since 1991. He is the member of the American College of Rheumatology, the Osteoarthritis Research Society International, the French Society of Rheumatology and the International Cartilage Repair Society. Since 2006, he is member of the board of directors the Osteoarthritis Research Society international (OARSI), the premier organization focused on the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of osteoarthritis. He was elected treasurer in 2010. He has been elected permanent chairmen of the world BMJD debate and consensus congress since 2010. Further, he was chairman of the 2010 OARSI world congress. He is also the vice-president of the Spine section and the osteoarthritis section of the French Society of Rheumatology since 2008, board member of the French Society of Rheumatology since 2011, president of the Belgium Back Society since 2000 and president of the Belgium Scientific Society of Physical Therapy since 2008.

He was the Belgium delegate and board member of the COST B13 action “Low back pain: guidelines for its management” organized by European Commission Research Directorate General. He is Co-President of the board of the National Council of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation for the Belgium Health Ministry. He serves the editorial board of several scientific reviews including “Osteoarthritis and Cartilage”. He is a section editor of the BMC musculoskeletal disorders since 2009. He is also member of international Faculty of F1000 section rheumatology and immunology which consists of experts who are highly respected in their chosen fields and nominated to the Faculty of 1000 (F1000) by their peers. He has published over 200 scientific peer-reviewed papers and 10 chapters of book. He is the co-editor of the book “Osteoarthritis: clinical and experimental aspects” (Springer), co-editor of “Primer in OA” (edited by the OARSI) and editor of the book “Non pharmacological modalities for the management of osteoarthritis” (Bentham). In 2005, he received a prestigious national prize (De Cooman Prize) for his contribution in the better understanding of osteoarthritis pathophysiology. He is also the founder and the chairman of the board of Artialis SA, a spin-off of the University of Liège specialized in the research and development of biological markers of musculoskeletal  disorders