Gil Wolfe

Gil Wolfe,

Is Professor and Chair of the Department of Neurology at University at Buffalo School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, SUNY, where he serves as the Irvin and Rosemary Smith Endowed Chair. Prior to January 2012, Dr. Wolfe was Professor of Neurology at the University of Texas (UT) Southwestern Medical School in Dallas. In September 2004, he was named as the Dr. Bob and Jean Smith Foundation Distinguished Chair in Neuromuscular Disease Research. He served as Co-Director of the Muscular Dystrophy Association Clinics and Director of the Myasthenia Gravis and Peripheral Neuropathy Clinics at UT Southwestern. He was also the Clinical Vice Chair for the department.
Dr. Wolfe completed his undergraduate studies at Princeton University and attended medical school at UT Southwestern. He completed an internal medicine internship and trained as a neurology resident and neuromuscular/electromyography fellow at the University of Pennsylvania Medical Center in Philadelphia. He is certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology in neurology, neuromuscular medicine, and clinical neurophysiology.
Dr. Wolfe is the immediate past chair of the Medical/Scientific Advisory Board (MSAB) for the Myasthenia Gravis Foundation of America (MGFA). His main research interests include idiopathic and immune-mediated peripheral neuropathies and myasthenia gravis. He co-directs the MDA Clinic and also directs intraoperative monitoring for the Univ. at Buffalo Dept. of Neurology.  
He has authored or co-authored over 100 papers and 20 chapters on neuromuscular disorders. His research has been sponsored by the National Institutes of Health/National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, Muscular Dystrophy Association, MGFA, and Food and Drug Administration. He is actively involved in the training of younger physicians. He was director of the neuromuscular medicine and clinical neurophysiology fellowships and the neurology residency training program at UT Southwestern. He has received excellence in residency teaching awards on several occasions both at UT Southwestern and Univ. at Buffalo. He serves on the medical advisory boards for the MGFA, Charcot-Marie-Tooth Association, GBS-CIDP Foundation International and Neuropathy Association and has been elected to Fellow of the American Academy of Neurology and the American Neurological Association.