Edith A. Perez

Edith A. Perez, M.D.
Deputy Director at Large, Mayo Clinic Cancer Center
Group Vice Chair, Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology
Serene M. and Frances C. Durling Professor of Medicine
Consultant, Hematology/Oncology, Mayo Clinic
Consultant (Joint Appointment), Cancer Biology, Mayo Clinic
Mayo Clinic
4500 San Pablo Road
Jacksonville, Florida, USA 32224

Edith A. Perez, M.D., is the Deputy Director at Large for Mayo Clinic Cancer Center, Group Vice Chair of the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology, and the Serene M. and Frances C. Durling Professor of Medicine at Mayo Medical School. She is also Chair of the Mayo Clinic Breast Cancer Translational Genomics Program started in 2009 and Chair of the Breast Cancer Specialty Council formed in 2012. She is a cancer specialist and an internationally known translational researcher at Mayo Clinic. Her roles extend nationally, including positions within Mayo Clinic, the American Association for Cancer Research, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, and the National Cancer Institute.
Dr. Perez has developed, and is involved in, a wide range of clinical trials exploring the use of new therapeutic agents for the treatment and prevention of breast cancer. She leads and has helped develop basic research studies to evaluate the role of genetic markers in the development and aggressiveness of breast cancer. She has authored more than 700 research articles in journals, books, and abstracts. Dr. Perez is invited frequently to lecture at national and international meetings and serves on the editorial boards of multiple academic journals.
A select list of awards Dr. Perez has received includes: Breast Cancer Research Foundation Research Grant Award (1998-2013); Horizon Achievement Award in Cancer Research (2002); Mayo Clinic Outstanding Faculty Award (2002 & 2004); North Florida Hispanic of the Year Award (2003); Mayo Clinic Distinguished Educator Award (2003); Serene M. and Frances C. Durling Professorship of Medicine (2006); Honorary Doctorate of Letters, University of North Florida (2006); Mayo Clinic Distinguished Investigator (2007); Florida State Biomedical Research Advisory Council (BRAC) (2009-2014); Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society (2009); Mayo Clinic Outstanding Course Director (2009); EVE Award for Lifetime Achievement (2011); NFL Hispanic Heritage Leadership Award (2011); one of the 75 Most Influential People in Jacksonville Healthcare from Jacksonville Magazine’s 904 (2012); The Girls Inc. Woman of Vision Award (2013); Jacksonville University Woman of the Year (2013), the Susan G. Komen® Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction in Clinical Research (2013), the Claude Jacquillat Award (2014) and she recently received OncLive’s Giants of Cancer Care Award (2014).